Top
City scape

Engineering - Civil Engineering - Research

Course overview
Research activity spans a broad spectrum of civil engineering subjects, which include (but are not limited to) concrete, steel and timber structures, wind engineering, environmental engineering, highway engineering, geotechnics, earthquake engineering, building energy management, offshore and coastal engineering, construction management, advanced materials and computational mechanics. This topical and strategic research is funded by industrial partners and several national and international funding agencies, including the European Union (EU). Some of the research is interdisciplinary and is aligned with the university's major research themes; for example, some academic staff work within research institutes such as the Environmental Change Institute, and the Martin Ryan Institute for Marine Science research.

Entry requirements

PhD—high Honours standard in the primary degree.

MEngSc—Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) or equivalent, at Second Class Honours Grade One level or above.

MApplSc—Honours degree from a recognised university or third level college or a Pass degree with at least three years relevant experience.

Duration

Course Code: PhD (part-time) 1PE1; MEngSc (full-time) GYF02 MEngSc (part-time) 1ES12 MApplSc (full-time) 1APR1; MApplSc (part-time) 1APR2

PhD (Civil Engineering), part-time
MEngSc (Civil Engineering), full-time
MEngSc (Civil Engineering), part-time
MApplSc (Civil Engineering), full-time
MApplSc (Civil Engineering), part-time

Further enquiries

Dr. P. Ó hEachteirn
T +353 91 492 210
E piaras.oheachteirn@nuigalway.ie
www.nuigalway.ie/civileng/

Research areas

Research Areas

Professor Padraic O'Donoghue
padraic.odonoghue@nuigalway.ie

Dr. Michael Brennan
michael.brennan@nuigalway.ie

Mr. Eamonn Cannon
eamonn.cannon@nuigalway.ie

Dr. Jamie Goggins
jamie.goggins@nuigalway.ie

Dr. Annette Harte
annette.harte@nuigalway.ie

Dr. Michael Hartnett
michael.hartnett@nuigalway.ie

Dr. T.P. Mullarkey
thomas.mullarkey@nuigalway.ie

Dr. Bryan McCabe
bryan.mccabe@nuigalway.ie

Dr. Kevin F. McNamara
kevin.mcnamara@nuigalway.ie

Mr. Stephen Nash
stephen.nash@nuigalway.ie

Dr. Michael Rodgers
michael.rodgers@nuigalway.ie

Dr. Piaras Ó hEachteirn
piaras.oheachteirn@nuigalway.ie

Dr. Marcus Keane
marcus.keane@nuigalway.ie

Dr. Xin Min Zhan
xinmin.zhan@nuigalway.ie

Dr. Mark Healy
mark.healy@nuigalway.ie

Remember to mention gradireland when contacting institutions!