On successful completion of this programme, graduates should be able to successfully secure professional roles at entry to mid-level positions in Computing and Computing-related industries and progress to leadership or research roles using skills related to those learned in the programme curriculum. The programme consists of 60 credits of taught modules and 15 credits of project or work-placement.

The Higher Diploma in Computing is a postgraduate programme designed for learners with either a level 7 degree in ICT, which is normally 5 years old or above, or an level 8 degree in a subject with a strong numerate, IT, or technical element such as accounting, engineering, science, digital media, etc. The programme enables learners to achieve the knowledge, skills and competencies required to earn a level 8 award in computing.

The programme aims to provide an opportunity for learners with level 7 degrees in ICT, to up-skill their knowledge and gain a competitive advantage in the computing sector. Additionally, the programme aims to provide an opportunity for learners with level 8 degrees outside the computing arena to reskill, moving their career trajectories to align with the computing sector.

Subjects taught

Semester 1
Introduction to Computing
Introduction to Programming
Maths for Computing
Operating Systems and Architecture

Semester 2
Web Development
Software Development Fundamentals
Algorithms and Constructs
Networking & Virtualisation
Project Skills & Professionalism

Entry requirements

CCT has identified entry criteria and processes that will enable it to determine an applicant's potential to succeed on the proposed programme.

Learners submitting a direct entry application to the proposed programme should provide supporting documentation for application consideration, in line with any one of the below Access arrangements or minimum entry requirements:

Applicants should submit an application with evidence of the following:

a) A Level 7 Ordinary degree award in the discipline of Information Communications Technology (normally 5 years old or greater)


b) A Level 8 Honours degree award in a cognate discipline of Information Communications Technology,


c) Submission of an application based on Recognition of Prior Experiential Learning

For applicants whose first language is not English, evidence must be provided of English Language proficiency equivalent to or greater than B2+ in the CERFL. IELTS, TOEFL, Cambridge etc. will be accepted as evidence for equivalence assessment purposes.

Applicants may have limited, narrow, or no experience in computing. In cases where an applicant is experienced and may be granted exemptions, this will be managed in accordance with the CCT policy and, in all cases, a minimum of 60 credits of new learning must be successfully completed in order to receive the award of Higher Diploma.

Assessment Info

CCT will utilise a variety of assessment methods to help ensure that the learning outcomes of each subject will be achieved, for example, Written Examination compiled of long or short term essays, Objective Tests, Presentations, Group Projects, Practical Assignments, Oral Examinations and final examinations where applicable.


Awarding Body
Quality and Qualifications Ireland (QQI)

Award Level
NFQ Level 8 (75 ECTS)


This programme is delivered over 2 academic semesters, 1 calendar year.

The Higher Diploma in Science in Computing is a one calendar year higher diploma programme. The Irish NQF Level of this course is Level 8.

Enrolment dates

Autumn and Spring

Next Intake Commencing
Spring 2020

Post Course Info

On successful completion of the programme, graduates will be entitled to transfer or progress to a range of level 8 (transfer to) and level 9 (progress onto) programmes in a related field, at the discretion of the programme provider.

Transfer options may include any level 8 Higher Diploma in Science in Computing related programme.

Graduates may be eligible to further their studies at level 9 (Postgraduate Diploma or Masters) in Computing or one of many Computing-related disciplines (in Ireland or abroad), such as Computer Science, Computational Science, Information Systems, IT Management, Technology and Innovation Management, Information Security & Digital Forensics, Information Systems Processes, and others

More details
  • Qualifications

    Higher Diploma (Level 8 NFQ)

  • Attendance type

    Full time,Daytime

  • Apply to

    Course provider