Nursing - Critical Care Nursing

The programme aims to assist you in taking a leading role in advancing and developing nursing and midwifery in this area, and effecting policy change in professional practice and health service provision.

This certifcate is suitable for nurses who are taking up new posts in critical care or for those who have been working in the area for some time but have not completed postgraduate education.

We are proud to be a recognised University of the National University of Ireland (NUI). All RCSI programmes are accredited by the NUI. This programme is also professionally accredited by the Nursing & Midwifery Board of Ireland as a Category 2 Post Registration course.

Recognition by ministries and bodies in other jurisdictions must be determined by the individual applicants.

Subjects taught

A blended learning approach is utilised in this programme, to promote lifelong learning and professional development for all nursing staff.

The programme modules are:

Module name Credits Assessment method
Principles of Critical Care 10 Assignment
Advanced Critical Care 1 10 Case study assignment
Advanced Critical Care 2 10 Case study assignment

Entry requirements

To be eligible for the programme you must:

Be a registered nurse or midwife on the register in your country of practice.

All applicants must hold a Bachelor degree. For applicants who don't hold a bachelor degree, there is a recognition of prior learning (RPL) pathway outlined below.

Applicants (unless exempt) must meet the English language requirements: English proficiency test, IELTS score of 6.5 or the equivalent score on another standardised test.

Clinical Learning Agreement/hours of learning experience document signed by director of nursing will be required

Please note: If you do not hold a level 8 qualification, you may still be eligible to join the programme through our pathway programme. Please contact us for further information on this route.


The programme is delivered part-time over a single semester, with an option to complete the programme over a period of up to three years if necessary.

Post Course Info

If you wish to progress your studies after completing this Postgraduate Certificate, you can choose to complete a Postgraduate Diploma (PgDip) and a Master of Science (MSc). The PgDip and the MSc programmes share anchor modules facilitating the development of knowledge and skills in research, leadership and refection and clinical competencies by way of a clinical practicum.

More details
  • Qualifications

    Minor Certificate (Level 9 NFQ)

  • Attendance type

    Part time,Blended

  • Apply to

    Course provider