Retirement Planning

Institute of Banking

Retirement Planning

Who is it for?
The Professional Certificate in Retirement Planning is designed to complement IOB current programme offerings in Asset, Investment and Wealth Management advice. It also provides graduates with a pathway to further study – the Graduate Diploma in Financial Planning.

How you will benefit
The Professional Certificate in Retirement Planning is a single module (10 ECTS) Level 9 NFQ programme designed to meet the needs of individuals within the financial services sector who are responsible for the provision of retirement planning advice. The programme will ensure that participants deepen their knowledge of the theory and practice of retirement planning along with enhancing and developing the key skills required in the provision of retirement planning advice.

Attention will be given to the increased complexity and variety of pension products available in Ireland and the regulatory requirements to be adhered to. Reference will also be made to the EU’s reform of occupational pension legislation (IORP II) which emphasises governance and communication standards for occupational pension schemes.

Professional Certificate in Retitrement Planning from UCD.
This is a level 9 qualification on the National Framework of Qualifications and carries 10 ECTS.

Subjects taught

Retirement Planning (NFQ level 9, 10 ECTS)
The Retirement Planning module deals with all aspects of retirement provision, public and private, relevant to providing financial advice. It provides you with a macro view of the regulatory environment for pensions. It explores in detail a range of issues including the structure and investment of private arrangements for groups and individuals, insured and non-insured.

Entry requirements

Students seeking admission to the Professional Certificate in Retirement Planning must possess:

a) Relevant honours degree (second class honours, grade 2 award, minimum) in business or a related discipline
b) Equivalent relevant professional qualification (e.g.) Qualified Financial Adviser (QFA), with three years’ relevant work experience obtained in the banking or financial services industry, Chartered Tax Advisers (CTAs), accountants, solicitors and barristers.

Professional body membership
You must be a current member of IOB, or become a member, to undertake this programme.


1 trimester
Delivery is online..

Enrolment dates

Next intake: Autumn Trimester (2024/2025 academic year)

Please note that the programme content and fees are subject to change in the 2024/2025 academic year. Any changes will be outlined in the 2024/2025 prospectus and at in August - the start of the new academic year.

More details
  • Qualifications

    Special Purpose Certificate (Level 9 NFQ)

  • Attendance type

    Part time

  • Apply to

    Course provider