Structure of apprenticeships

Last updated: 22 Jun 2023, 13:21

SOLAS is the agency with responsibility for apprenticeship programmes, an area that is undergoing considerable growth.

Hero image for Structure of apprenticeships

An apprenticeship is a standard based education and training programme. During your apprenticeship you will be required to follow a specific course of training and undergo a series of assessments to confirm that you’ve reached the required industry standard. Apprenticeships generally comprise of seven phases, three offthe- job and four on-the-job. There are exceptions to the above, such as Aircraft Mechanics, Floor/Wall Tiling and Industrial Insulation.

Off-the-job training

  • • Phase 2: Training Centre
  • • Phase 4: Institute of Technology or College of Further Education
  • • Phase 6: Institute of Technology or College of Further Education.
  • At present the general duration of apprenticeship is a minimum of four
  • • Attend all off-the-job training phases when scheduled
  • • Pass all the on-the-job assessments at the first attempt
  • • Pass all the on-the-job assessments and ensure results are returned to your local Training Advisor.

On-the-job training

Employers have responsibility for providing on the job training as outlined in the our graphic. For further information.

gradireland editorial advice

This describes editorially independent and impartial content, which has been written and edited by the gradireland content team. Any external contributors featuring in the article are in line with our non-advertorial policy, by which we mean that we do not promote one organisation over another.

People reading this also searched for roles in these areas:

undefined background image

We've got you

Get the latest jobs, internships, careers advice, courses and graduate events based on what's important to you. Start connecting directly with top employers today.