Construction, civil engineering and QS
The structure of apprenticeships

Structure of apprenticeships

SOLAS is the agency with responsibility for apprenticeship programmes, an area that is undergoing considerable growth.
Apprenticeship generally comprises of seven phases, three off-the-job and four on the job.

An apprenticeship is a standard based education and training programme. During your apprenticeship you will be required to follow a specific course of training and undergo a series of assessments to confirm that you’ve reached the required industry standard. Apprenticeships generally comprise of seven phases, three offthe- job and four on-the-job. There are exceptions to the above, such as Aircraft Mechanics, Floor/Wall Tiling and Industrial Insulation.

Off-the-job training

  • • Phase 2: Training Centre
  • • Phase 4: Institute of Technology or College of Further Education
  • • Phase 6: Institute of Technology or College of Further Education.
  • At present the general duration of apprenticeship is a minimum of four
  • • Attend all off-the-job training phases when scheduled
  • • Pass all the on-the-job assessments at the first attempt
  • • Pass all the on-the-job assessments and ensure results are returned to your local Training Advisor.

On-the-job training

Employers have responsibility for providing on the job training as outlined in the our graphic. For further information.